Teacher's Bio


Korean born naturalized American, Mihee K. Heil, is a professionally trained piano teacher who graduated summa cum laude from Del Mar College, Corpus Christi, Texas where she studied under the Edna Ocker Piano Accompaniment Scholarship in addition to her Bachelor degree in Music Education from Hanyang University in Seoul, Korea, and Master program study in Piano Pedagogy from Valley City State University.  Received the Outstanding Student Award of Music from DMC and was a winner of Hall of Fame DMC Honors' Audition.  Worked with voice, winds, and strings and performed at TAMUCC Performing Arts Center, DMC Wolfe Recital Hall, and Foxdale Auditorium in State College, Pennsylvania as a soloist and a chamber musician.  She also received intensive private classical training over 10 years in the United States from a nationally renowned piano teacher, John Weems, Dr. Setsuko Sugihar Devena, and Dr. David Sutanto.  Mihee K. Heil is certified by National Music Teachers Association as an NCTM, nationally certified teacher of music in piano. 

Taught piano independently in Seoul Korea; San Antonio, Texas; Springfield, Virginia; Honolulu, Hawaii; and, Rockport Texas over 30 years.  Served Holy Cross Lutheran Church of Rockport as a pianist for three years.  She has actively involved and supported music programs for the Rockport community and the Coastal Bend area.  Works as an adjudicator at local and state level festivals and auditions.  Actively participates Music Teachers National Association (MTNA), Texas Music Teachers Association (TMTA), and Corpus Christi Music Teachers Association (CCMTA). 

Mihee K. Heil held positions Coastal Plains Music Teachers Association President from 2010-2012,  Texas Music Teachers Association World of Music Division III Test Writer from 2007 to 2011, and Corpus Christi Music Teachers Association President from 2016 to 2018.   Currently, she is CCMTA Parrie James Festival Chair, directs CCMTA ensemble teams since 2011, and serves as All-Star Festival Chair for Texas Music Teachers Association since 2017.